DSC Prize 2015 Jury Announced



New Delhi, September 26, 2014: The DSC Prize for South Asian Literature takes immense pride in announcing the Jury for its 2015 edition. The 5 member jury panel would be fully empowered and solely responsible to adjudicate on the entries and arrive at the longlist, the shortlist and the eventual winner of the DSC Prize which is now in its fifth year.

The distinguished international jury panel will be chaired by Keki N. Daruwalla, leading Indian writer and poet. He is joined on the jury panel by John Freeman, author, literary critic and former editor of Granta from the US, Maithree Wickramasinghe, a Professor of English at the University of Kelaniya, Sri Lanka and the  University of Sussex and an expert on gender studies, Michael Worton,  Emeritus Professor at UCL (University College London) who  has written extensively on modern literature and  art, and  Razi Ahmed from Pakistan who is the founding director of the annual, not-for-profit Lahore Literary Festival (LLF).

More about the Jury members >>

The distinguished and capable jury panel has been tasked to adjudicate the entries for this year’s DSC Prize for South Asian Literature. The panel brings with them a diverse and extensive experience of encouraging and promoting the enormous talent writing about the South Asian region, which is strongly aligned with the guiding objectives of the DSC Prize.

The jury panel is in the process of judging more than 75 entries that were received this year by the DSC Prize Secretariat from publishers all across the world. There has been a considerable and growing interest for the prize from publishers and authors globally and the spread and number of entries have been growing each year. Of special significance this year has been the increasing number of entries coming in from publishers from UK, USA, Canada and Australia to supplement the entries from publishers in the South Asian countries, and the strong representation of translated works. Over a period of three and a half months, the jury would rigorously evaluate the entries to first arrive at a Longlist to be announced in New Delhi on 20th October 2014, followed by the Shortlist (5-6 titles) announcement in London on 27th of November and eventually the winner of the US $50,000 DSC Prize for South Asian Literature 2015 that would be announced at the Jaipur Literature Festival in Jaipur on 22nd January 2015.

Speaking about the DSC Prize, Keki N. Daruwalla, the jury chair, said, “This is a prestigious prize, remarkable for the fact that it is confined to fiction on South Asia, this land mass teeming with languages, faiths and people. We have novelists from three continents and close to a dozen countries letting their imaginations grapple with the multiple realities of this land. South Asia with its crowds, their emotions spilling over spit-slick streets, and its roller coaster histories dotted with a coup and an insurgency here or an assassination there, is a seed-bed for good fiction. The best part of the DSC Prize is that translations also get a look-in.”

Commenting on the Jury announcement, Manhad Narula of DSC Limited, said, “We are delighted to have such a highly acclaimed international jury panel for the DSC Prize 2015. They bring in a rich and varied understanding of South Asian writing, and I eagerly look forward to their selection for the longlist, the shortlist and the final winner. The number of entries for the DSC Prize and the spread of authors writing about this region has grown over the years which would make the jury’s task more interesting and challenging. I am confident that the eventual winner chosen by the jury will be a true reflection of the very best of South Asian writing as it has been over the years.”

The DSC Prize for South Asian Literature prides itself on a thorough and transparent judging process and is modeled on global best practices. The 5 member jury panel, which is selected by the Steering Committee basis the recommendations received from the Advisory Committee, is solely responsible to decide and arrive at the longlist, the shortlist and the ultimate winner without any external influence and their adjudication is final.

The DSC Prize for South Asian Literature has previously been won by Cyrus Mistry for his book ‘Chronicle of a Corpse Bearer’, by HM Naqvi for Home Boy, by Shehan Karunatilaka for Chinaman: The Legend of Pradeep Mathew and by Jeet Thayil for Narcopolis. Each of these winners has gone on to be published internationally to reach out to a larger global audience, which has been one of the central visions of the DSC Prize.

For more information, please contact:

DSC Prize Steering Committee Genesis Burson-Marsteller
Deepa Kumar Farheen Khan
Contact No:
Contact No:
Email: deepa.kumar@dsclimited.com Email:

About the DSC Prize for South Asian Literature

The US $50,000 DSC Prize for South Asian Literature which was instituted in 2010, is one of the most prestigious international literary awards specifically focused on South Asian writing. It is a unique and coveted prize and is open to authors of any ethnicity or nationality as long as the writing is about South Asia and its people. It also encourages writing in regional languages and translations and the prize money is equally shared between the author and the translator in case a translated entry wins.

Now in its 5th year, the DSC Prize has been successful in bringing South Asian writing to a larger global audience through a celebration of the achievements of the authors writing about this region, and thereby raise awareness of South Asian literature and culture around the world. The DSC Prize is committed to extend the conversation on South Asian writing and reaches out to various audiences through exciting & creative partnerships with the London School of Economics, the Frankfurt Book Fair, the Jaipur Literature festival, the Ubud Writers & Readers Festival, the Goethe Institute and the University of Delhi amongst others.

The last four years have had winners from three different countries in South Asia – HM Naqvi from Pakistan (Homeboy Harper Collins, India), Shehan Karunatilaka from Sri Lanka (Chinaman, Random House, India), Jeet Thayil from India (Narcopolis, Faber & Faber, London) and Cyrus Mistry from India (Chronicle of a Corpse Bearer, Aleph India). Each of these winners has gone on to be published internationally and their work has reached a larger global audience which has been one of the central visions of the DSC Prize.